(Made In Chicago: My Review OF “The Birth OF A Nation”)

I give much respect to Mr. Nate Parker for making this film. Nat Turner slave
rebellion took place in Southampton County, Virginia, during August 1831. Led by Nat Turner, freedom fighters killed 55 to 65 people, the highest number of fatalities caused by any slave uprising in the Southern United States. The rebellion was put down within a few days, but Turner survived in hiding for more than two months afterwards. The rebellion was effectively suppressed at Belmont Plantation on the morning of August 23, 1831.

There was widespread fear in the aftermath of the rebellion, and white militias organized in retaliation against any slave. The state executed 56 slaves accused of being part of the rebellion. In the frenzy, many non-participant slaves were punished. At least 100 African Americans, and possibly up to 200, were murdered by militias and mobs in the area. Across the South, state legislatures passed new laws prohibiting education of slaves. They restricted the rights of assembly and other civil rights for free blacks, and required white ministers to be present at all worship services.

The long path to release has been clouded by controversy of Nate Parker private life of a 1999 rape charge against Parker was later acquitted. The ongoing specter of American injustice, nearly 200 years after Turner’s death. It’s best moments turn out to be the smaller human ones not the biopic bullet points of Turner the hero and symbolic martyr but the more intimate portrait of a son, husband, and father who struggled to reconcile his unshakable faith with the harsh realities of being born a black man in the South.

Raised on a Virginia plantation and taught to read the Bible by an altruistic mistress (Penelope Ann Miller), Turner was visited by religious visions from an early age, and according to him it was the word of God that led him to a slave rebellion. “For every verse they use to support our bondage,” he tells a makeshift congregation of fellow slaves, “there’s another one demanding our freedom.” His righteousness was hardly abstract, though; he was galvanized by crucial events in his life, including an ugly betrayal by his master and onetime friend Armie Hammer, showing just how provisional white benevolence could be and a horrific assault on his wife Aja Naomi King. Parker is compelling, skillfully tracing Turner’s transformation from softhearted minister to holy warrior. It’s almost impossible not to be moved by what he’s made a powerful affecting film by a undeniably gifted filmmaker.

My goal for writing and publishing my revised book “The Solution For Black America: Reclaiming, Rebuilding, And Restoring The Urban Ghettos In America” second edition is for me to connect with other like minded African Americans, African Immigrants, Afro Brazilians, Afro Caribbean Islanders, and Nonblack sympathizers interested in working with me in solving black issues and turning my virtual Christian organization “GRCAM” The Grass Roots Community Activist Movement into a real business starting in Chicago.

You don’t have to wait until my revised book get on the best sellers list to step forward and work with me and Sister Rena. I refuse to be ignored I am using the only tools currently available to me to get my message out to the public that is my Youtube videos, my Social Groups, my Blog Postings, my Blogtalkradio show, my Free Webinars I hold on Facebook, Google Plus and Skype. The only thing which is preventing me from turning my virtual Christian organization into a real business is the lack of manpower and the capital this is why I keep re-emphasizing my revised book. My book is the foundation of my organization and all of our members will know my story and sign a consent form once I have my management team in place and we have a place of business in Chicago.

Stand up residents on the Westside of Chicago who live in Austin, Garfield Park, and North Lawndale GRCAM is my gift to you and the community. Stand up residents on the Southside of Chicago who live in Auburn Gresham, Bronzeville, Chatham, Englewood, Pullman, Roseland, South Shore, Washington Park, and Wood Lawn GRCAM is my gift to you and the community.

GRCAM will be committed to strengthening the black family, our inner city youth and the black community through a variety of outreach programs such as, working towards ending urban violence, prevent infant mortality, address health disparities, promote health in our community, support those with disabilities, and enhance the quality of life for everyone we serve. GRCAM will use a vision-driven approach to help solve problems in the community will we serve by nurturing individuals and their families to enhance the quality of life and encourage fundamental change in the social and economic system.

The Grass Roots Community Activist Movement will be an organization with the following objectives:

* Connecting ordinary law abiding citizens who reside in the inner cities to have a chance to become business owners and owners of property.

* To fund ideas of our members who have a vision to create or do something on a grand scale that would be beneficial within the black community and assist the less fortunate.

* To provide educational opportunities and provide basic resources for everyone in this organization to reach their personal life goals.

* To create a new mindset in which we consider one another as equal and value life.

* To resurrect Black Wall Street and the African Golden Age.

Our community will be built on values of faith, community service, stewardship and growth with friendship at the center of everything we do. GRCAM is about making our urban community better, healthier, and stronger. GRCAM is also about building a strong unified global community and providing basic resources to families that want to utilize our programs and services. GRCAM is open to all ordinary law abiding citizens, all racial groups, and undiscovered artist. GRCAM is private in order for me to weed out small minded individuals and people who careless about inner city youth and their families. This is my contribution back to my community, society, and throughout the African Diaspora. Our motto: No GOD, No peace. Know GOD, Know peace. Peace over violence

My Author Page on Amazon

http://www.amazon.com/Emmanuel-Barbee/e/B00J6IKRUK

My Youtube Channel (Please Subscribe)

http://www.youtube.com/user/manwellonline/videos

My Cause (Help Stop The Genocide In American Ghettos)

https://www.causes.com/campaigns/101979-help-stop-the-genocide-in-american-ghettos

Leave a Reply

